Cybersecurity experts join forces to present an overview of the new, emerging standard, designed to accelerate automated responses to the latest cyber threats confronting security practitioners. The OASIS Collaborative Automated Course of Action Operations (CACAO) for Cybersecurity standard will define executable, course-of-action (prevention, mitigation, and remediation) response playbooks and workflows devised for cybersecurity events. Each CACAO playbook will consist of a sequence of cyber defense measures that can be performed by various technological solutions across organizational boundaries and beyond. The presenters will describe persistent challenges facing security orchestration technology today and will highlight exactly how CACAO will tackle the orchestration issues in a heterogeneous security environment. Audience: Security teams, including incident responders, threat hunters, and security operations, will find examples that can help them take advantage of the new standard for secure collaboration and sharing.

This webinar is free to all.

Register Now



About the Speakers

  • Allan Thomson

    Allan Thomson
    Chief Technology Officer, (CACAO Co-Chair), LookingGlass Cyber Solutions

    Allan Thomson is LookingGlass Chief Technology Officer (CTO) responsible for technology product vision, strategy & architecture across Threat Intelligence Management, Threat Mitigation & Response product lines. Allan is currently serving as the Co-Chair of the Interoperability Subcommittee for the Cyber Threat Intelligence Technical Committee at OASIS as well as lead contributor on OpenC2 automation standards. He was recently recognized by OASIS as Distinguished Contributor for his work on standards at OASIS. Previously, he was Principal Engineer and Architect for Threat Defense products at Cisco Systems with active involvement in standards for security (IETF/IEEE) and distributed systems.

  • Bret Jordan, Office of the CTO

    Bret Jordan
    Technical Director, Broadcom (CACAO Co-Chair) , Office of the CTO

    Bret Jordan is a seasoned business leader and Cybersecurity Architect with over 20 years of experience in cybersecurity. He has worked with an eclectic mix of global enterprise companies, startups, nonprofits, and academic institutions, and currently works at Symantec where he heads security architecture and standards in the Office of the CTO. Jordan is currently serving as Co-Chair of the TAXII subcommittee and Editor of the STIX and TAXII specifications for the Cyber Threat Intelligence Technical Committee at OASIS and Co-Chair of the Implementation Considerations sub-committee for the OpenC2 Technical Committee at OASIS. Jordan also contributes to several IETF working groups.

  • Stephanie Hazlewood

    Stephanie Hazlewood
    STSM & SOAR Architect, IBM Security CTO Office

    Stephanie Hazlewood is a Senior Technical Staff Member (STSM) at IBM. As part of the IBM Security CTO team she works closely with offering management and clients in the evolution of SOAR capabilities and the IBM Cloud Pak for Security. Over the past 20 years, Stephanie has become a trusted advisor to countless organizations across industries including finance, healthcare, government and retail as they develop and evolve their security and governance programs. Based in Toronto, she is often found volunteering her time leading cybersecurity events for youth or exploring one of Canada’s many national parks with her family.

  • Andrew Storms

    Andrew Storms
    VP of Security Services, New Context

    Andrew Storms is the VP, Product of New Context, an innovator in data security for highly regulated industries. Andrew has over 20 years in IT security, developing products and solutions for utilities, the enterprise and government. He’s a project lead for CES-21, a research initiative around automated cybersecurity threat detection and response within electrical utility operational networks, and a Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP.) Andrew is a graduate of the FBI Citizens’ Academy, a member of Infragard, and a member of the Open Standards Technical Committee for STIX,TAXII and OpenC2. His past roles include Senior Director of DevOps at CloudPassage and Director of Information, Technology & Security at nCircle.